What is the Definition of Social Media Marketing?

Confused???! (Image provided by Tom_ka via Flickr)

This week I’m covering marketing basics in my business management class.  The curriculum developed by the college is very general, and I  have a lot of leeway on what marketing topics I cover in class.  With that being said, I normally structure the week that I cover marketing by first discussing  the basics of marketing such as: the 4 P’s, product life cycle, and traditional marketing collateral. But, the world of marketing is has been disrupted by the emergence of social media marketing (SMM) – Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.

These “marketing additives” are the center of discussion in many businesses and no definitive answers have eveloed as to adoption and integration into enteprise marketing strategies.  I do feel SMM is too big to gloss over, but I have yet to pinpoint a definitive model of what SMM looks like from an enterprise standpoint.

Peter Kim posted a thought-provoking blog today – Defining Social Media Marketing.  Peter defines SMM it as:

“Interaction between a company and individual via [digital] delivery channels, intended to share commercial content that will lead to a sale and/or be passed along to others.”

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this subject.  What is the definition of Social Media? What should I cover in my class?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Response

  1. I am not a marketing professional, but my two cents on this …

    http://atulrai1.blogspot.com/2008/10/marketing-and-web-20.html

    Thanks, Atul.

Leave a Reply

