Introduction to Web 3.0: A Free Course

Get Ready for Web 3.0

Image by badosa via Flickr

Last year I took a course in which I had to choose from a list of topics for my final paper.  Hesitantly I chose chose the topic the Semantic Web after my favorite topic Web 2.0 consumed by a competing classmate.  As I look back at those weeks and weeks of research that I conducted, I think about what little I knew of what is to become of the Web as we currently know it.  Now I am to be able to conceptualize what Web 3.0 may someday entail and the promises it holds.

Just last year when I was researching the keywords Semantic Web, I was unaware of the actual term Web 3.0.  There were only a handful of articles to which I could reference. Most of my research centered around semantics, intelligent robots, and complex algorithms.  I’m nowhere near an expert on the subject, but I truly fascinated and eager to learn as much about the next generation of the Web as I possibly can.  As I write, we are in the midst of a Web 2.0 bubble, how big or how wide it will inflate is to be seen.  Long gone is Web 1.0 – the days of static pages and read-only information.  In the distant horizon is the prospect of a thinking, perceiving, anticipating Web – Web 3.0.

In an effort to continue with the tradition of Web 3.0 which is information sharing and user collaboration I’ve developed an Intro to Web 3.0 course, WEB30.  WEB30 consists of a series from my collection of of videos, articles and and blog posts dedicated to Web 3.0.

As always with any social media endeavor, I’d appreciate any help in curating this course by providing more Web 3.0 content.

Part one of this course consists of a brief introduction to Web 2.0 in the form of a blog post and a video.

WEB 3.0 = 4C+P+V: This is an article posted by Sarmana Mitra an entrepreneur and a strategy consultant in Silicon Valley since 1994. Her fields of experience span from hard core technology disciplines like semiconductors to sophisticated consumer marketing industries including fashion and education.

Here is an excert from her post:

Web 2.0 has been a nichy phenomenon with hundred and thousands of microcap efforts addressing one of the Cs, lately, Community being the most popular force, producing companies like MySpace, Facebook, Piczo, Xanga, and Flixster.

In Web 1.0, Commerce had been the driving force, that produced companies like Netflix, BlueNile, Amazon, and eBAY. It had also resulted in the Dotcom meltdown.

Read the entire article here.

Part one concludes with a video of Eric Schmidt, CEO of Google, discussing Web 2.0 vs. Web 3.0.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Eric Schmidt, Web 2.0 vs. Web 3.0“, posted with vodpod

You feedback of this course is greatly appreciated!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Responses

  1. Great course, it very helpful for bloging mania

  2. Axealis,
    Thanks for the great feedback! Designing this course has been a great learning experience for me. Compared to a year ago, there is much more information available, and its been my pleasure to share this knowledge in an interesting, yet informative way.

Leave a Reply

